Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Policies

Library Resources

Borrowing guidelines
All current RCC students, faculty, and staff are welcome to open a library account with their RCC ID cards.

RCC Libraries and Jackson County Library Services share physical collections. Materials can be checked out from JCLS branches with an RCC library card, and patrons who reside in Jackson County may borrow RCC materials using their JCLS card. Electronic subscriptions (eBooks, research databases) are not shared between systems. 

Borrowers are responsible for any materials checked out under their account. 

Most materials may be checked out for a three-week period. Items may be renewed twice (in person, by phone, or online), unless they have been requested by another patron. Patrons may request that library materials be held for them through the online catalog or by calling the library. Holds are limited to 25 at one time. Items will be held for one week, after which they will be returned to the collection. 

Reserve collection
The campus libraries place on reserve textbooks and videos required for courses, as well as laptops, calculators, assistive devices, and other important resources, to ensure that students are not without needed materials for their coursework. These are funded through student technology fee grants, faculty and student donations, and academic departments. 

Loan periods for these materials range from two hours to one week, depending on material type, availability, and demand. These periods may be extended after the first two weeks of the term. Reserve items checked out after 3 pm may be kept overnight, or through the weekend if materials are checked out at the end of the week. 

Computers and devices
Laptop computers can be checked out for a period of two days. Flash drives and scientific calculators are available to be checked out. Graphing calculators can be rented for a term.

Laptops are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Never leave library laptops unattended, and always return them directly to a staff person. Please use the power cord when possible, to preserve battery life and prevent lost data. 

All files saved to a laptop or desktop computer will be erased upon logging off or shutting down. No files are retained on the computer’s hard drive, so your work should always be saved to the cloud or to a personal drive. RCC is not responsible for damage to any storage device used with library computers, or for any loss of data that may occur due to malfunctioning hardware or software.

Fines and fees
Borrowers are responsible for returning materials on time and in the same condition as when they were loaned. If items are not returned, the patron will be billed for the replacement cost of the item. Fines are assessed for reserve materials at 25 cents per hour. 

If a damaged item cannot be repaired and returned to circulation, the patron will be billed for the replacement cost. 

Interlibrary loans
The interlibrary loan service enables students, faculty, and staff to obtain materials from other library systems at no charge. Please verify that the requested item is not available in the library collections or database subscriptions, or ask library staff for assistance. 

Interlibrary loan items are held at the circulation desk for up to two weeks, and are then returned to the lending library. Materials are checked out for two weeks, and a renewal can be requested prior to the due date.

Library Spaces

Interior library amenities are not available at any campus locations. Lobby access is available at the Redwood Library for Reserve Room items or general collection requests.

RCC Libraries are your libraries, and we want them to be comfortable places for you to study, relax, and interact with others. Library spaces are shared areas, so please be considerate of your fellow patrons. Those engaging in disorderly, harassing, or offensive behavior will be asked to leave. 

Please use headphones when listening to audio. Library headphones are available for your use.

Napping is allowed, but please be aware of your surroundings and your belongings. RCC assumes no responsibility for the loss or damage of personal property left unattended. Lost-and-found items can be claimed at the circulation counter. 

Food and drink
Food and drinks are allowed in the libraries. Please be considerate of fellow patrons, and clean up any waste.

Study rooms
RCC Libraries provide media-viewing rooms as well as spaces for group work and quiet study. Groups should be aware that noise can be heard outside the rooms, and be mindful of others. 

These rooms may be claimed whenever they’re free. Reservations can be placed in advance; check with library staff on your campus. Rooms are reserved on a first-come, first-served basis. Please be considerate of others and cancel any reservations you no longer want.

Visitors
Members of the public are invited to visit and browse the collection. 

Computer Use

RCC Libraries provide computers for the use of RCC students, faculty, and staff. Computers require an RCC log-in. Computers may be used by the public on a guest log-in after 4 pm, assuming space is available. 

Computer users are responsible for complying with the RCC Information Technology Acceptable Use Procedure, and should confine their use of the computers to lawful and ethical purposes. Users are responsible for all actions taken on a computer while they are logged in, and are expected to be courteous to others in the area. 

Computers are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Files cannot be saved locally, so work should be saved to the cloud or to a personal drive. Flash drives are available for borrowing. Users must not alter the software or operating configuration of the computers, and any problems should be reported to library staff. RCC is not responsible for viruses, corrupted files, or any damage to personal storage devices that are used with the computers. 

There are no filters on internet content, and no content is blocked. RCC is not responsible for controversial or objectionable content accessed on library computers. The computers are located in public areas, and users should have no expectation of privacy. RCC cannot guarantee the confidentiality or security of information visible on computer screens or transmitted through an RCC connection, and is not liable for any damages incurred through use of the computers. To protect your privacy, be sure to log off before stepping away from a library computer.

Printing, copying, scanning, and faxing
Black-and-white printing is available to students at all campus libraries at no charge, as this cost is covered by student fees. Please print double-sided pages when possible. Color printing is not available in the libraries. There is no wireless access to library printers. 

Black-and-white copies may be made for 10 cents per page. Faxing is available at library circulation desks. Scanners are available at the Redwood and Riverside locations. Users of library resources are responsible for abiding by applicable copyright laws. Please speak with a librarian about any copyright questions. 

Disability and ADA Compliance

RCC Libraries strive to accommodate our patrons’ varying needs, and adaptive equipment is available. Please speak with library staff for assistance or information about resources.

Service animals are welcome in the library, in accordance with RCC policy.

Privacy and Confidentiality

RCC Libraries protect your privacy. Circulation records are kept confidential, in accordance with the American Library Association’s Policy on Confidentiality of Library Records and Oregon Revised Statute 192.503(23). No inquiry will be made into a borrower’s reasons for accessing materials, and library staff do not discuss patron borrowing except as necessary to meet library purposes. 

RCC Libraries abide by federal and state law governing your freedom of inquiry and access to information, including the Oregon Public Records Law. Patron information will only be released to law enforcement agents in response to a legal order. 

Third-party vendors providing subscription services, such as EBSCO, have their own policies on user privacy. You should be aware that these companies may reserve the right to collect and share data from your use of their services. Please contact a librarian if you would like to know more.

The Collection

RCC Libraries’ collection and database resources support the curriculum with relevant, current, quality materials. Librarians also select general information resources and other items which support the extracurricular interests of the RCC community. Students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to submit recommendations for any materials they would like to be considered. 

Our goal is to build a collection which includes a diversity of authors and creators, as well as diverse views and perspectives. In accordance with the ALA Library Bill of Rights, material will not be excluded because of the origin, identity, or views of the author. We strive to support the RCC community’s free access to ideas, including those that are controversial. The inclusion of materials in the collection does not imply endorsement of views expressed.

On an ongoing basis, librarians withdraw outdated, supplanted, and damaged items from the collection. This weeding process is an essential part of maintaining a current and useful collection.