Short Stories - WR 115 - Introduction to Expository Writing

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is an online provider of books in the public domain. You can search their catalog, print, and download books (or chapters, sections, etc.) to your computer.

Project Gutenberg (PG) is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks." It was founded in 1971 by Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. These items are free and can be read online or downloaded. The project is named after Johannes Gutenberg, the fifteenth century German printer who propelled the moving type printing press revolution.

Short Stories from Project Gutenberg

Printing instructions:
Please copy and paste your selected short story into a Word document, using either the HTML or Plain Text. Be sure you are only printing ONE story and not the complete collection of stories that many of the books contain.

An Angel in Disguise - T.S. Arthur
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
A Horseman in the Sky - Ambrose Bierce
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge - Ambrose Bierce
On the Gull's Road - Willa Cather
A Dark Brown Dog - Stephen Crane
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
A Jury of Her Peers - Susan Glaspell
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
The Luck of Roaring Camp - Bret Harte
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
My Kinsman, Major Molineux, Young Goodman Brown, Minister's Black Veil - Nathaniel Hawthorne
Each of these stories is in one of the collected works.
The Cactus - O. Henry
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
The Gift of the Magi - O. Henry
The Skylight Room - O. Henry
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
The Legend of Sleepy Hollow - Washington Irving
To Build a Fire - Jack London
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
The Monkey's Paw - W.W. Jacobs
Bartleby, the Scrivener - Herman Melville
Cask of Amontillado - Edgar Allan Poe
The Purloined Letter - Edgar Allen Poe
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
The Tell-Tale Heart - Edgar Allan Poe
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
The Celebrated Frog of Calaveras Country - Mark Twain
This is one of the stories in this collection. Please print only the one story.
The story is about half way down in the collection.
Eve's Diary - Mark Twain

Short Stories from Other Online Databases

An Ornery Kind of Kid - William Saroyan
Short story about a father and son published in 1949 in the Saturday Evening Post.
Scarlet Stockings - Louisa May Alcott
The story of a courtship set during the Civil War.
Regret - Kate Chopin
Kate Chopin's short story about a woman who becomes responsible for the care of her neighbor's four children.
The Story of an Hour - Kate Chopin
“The Story of an Hour” is Kate Chopin’s short story about the thoughts of a woman after she is told that her husband has died in an accident. The story first appeared in Vogue in 1894 and is today one of Chopin’s most popular works.