MUS 13x - Class Piano

International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) - sharing the world's public domain music.

An online collection of free scores of both classical vocal and instrumental music. This page allows you to browse by composer, instrument, form and/or time period.

Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to Eastman's Sibley Music Library collection

A collection of digitized autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers' proofs, and first editions of great interest to performers and scholars. There is also a downloadable comprehensive list (in .pdf format) offering detailed information about each manuscript in the collection. Among the collection's highlights are the late engraver's proof of Beethoven's 9th Symphony and the final scene of Mozart's "Le Nozze di Figaro."

The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University has about forty collections of string quartets in parts dating from approximately 1770-1840, the heyday of the genre. Most, though not all, scores are complete and represent composers whose works are rarely found in modern editions. Digitization of these parts makes newly available for performance, study and recording a large and varied repertoire of works for this instrumental ensemble.

According to the website, "the Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin, maintained in the Special Collections Research Center. Because Chopin's works were often published concurrently in several countries with variant texts, scholars can establish a sequence of publication by comparing a range of printings." This online resource is a digitized version of U. Chicago's collection of Chopin scores available in many different editions.

The DME, currently in development, will provide world wide access to the complete works of Wolfgang Amadé(us) Mozart (1756–1791) in digital form via the internet for study and performance purposes. In addition to the presentation of all works of music online, the DME will include a critical edition of letters, documents and libretti as well. The Mozart Institute is also preparing text and image files, reference lists, a database of sources, as well as a catalog of works which will be placed online as part of the DME.

A collection of mostly 19th- and early 20th-century musical scores by women composers held at the University of Michigan Music Library.