Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUS201 Introduction to Western Music

Online Resources

Here's accessible resource websites and databases free to use:

The Oxford History of Western Music: Encyclopedia of Western Music (available Summer Term 2021)

The Aria Database: is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, the database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions. This database also provides access to a collection of operatic sound files to give visitors an  idea of what each aria sounds like.

Bach Digital: the Bach portal for research and the practical musicians the detailed and global database with digital reproductions of works/sources by J.S. Back and the whole Bach family the platform for reliable research results, always kept up to date... or simply a place for browsing through the fascinating original sources of J. S. Bach and his sons.

Beethovan-Haus Digital Archives makes the inventory of the Beethovan-Haus and its contents accessible for research, use, and the general public. Beethovan's life and oeuvre can be experienced in a multimedia way through linked image, text, and audio data.

Early Music Online is a pilot project in which 300 of the world's earliest surviving volumes of printed music, held in the British Library have been digitized and made freely available online. You can browse the digitized content in Royal Holloway's digital repository.

Library of Congress Performance Art Database.

MNA Online: Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: Digitized Version: The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use. The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, edited by the International Stiftung Mozart in cooperation with the Mozart cities of Augsburg, Salzburg, and Vienna.

Books on Reserve

These are books that are in the Riverside Campus Library Reserve Room for MUS201 students only. Call the library at 541-245-7512 for availability.

Searching for operas or ballets in the RCC library catalog

The RCC/Jackson County Library Catalog defaults to a page with a basic search box. To browse operas or ballets on DVD, type “opera DVD” or “ballet DVD” – don’t type the quotation marks. This will bring up several good titles. There will also be some (like Phantom of the Opera) that will also be in the results. One can also type “opera” in the basic search box and in the scroll down box for “format” below that, and choose DVD. This is going to bring a lot more results, but also a lot more irrelevant ones. If you have a particular title in mind, like the Nutcracker, you are better off typing in the title and choosing the format as DVD. If you are searching for CDs the same kind of searching can be done.

If you are having difficulty ask a librarian for help!

Books Regarding Western Music

Here are some books and music available in the catalog. Just click title or cover art to go directly to the item: