Home - MUS 105 - Music Appreciation - LibGuides at Rogue Community College

Music - Article Databases

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Find more music journal articles.
Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers drama, music, art history and filmmaking.

The Internet Archive: Audio Archive
Find recordings of popular songs from 79rpm discs (in production from about 1898 to the 1950s).
National Jukebox
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives.
Global Jukebox
Interactive website to access a collection of world music. Originated as a research project at Columbia University and Hunter College/CUNY.

Films on Demand Master Academic Package This link opens in a new window
Content ranges from Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries to A-list performances spanning the arts. To browse all the subjects, click on the Menu to select Subject Index.

Encyclopedia of Great Popular Song Recordings by Steve Sullivan
ISBN: 9781442254480
Publication Date: 2017
The American Songbook by Ann van der Merwe
ISBN: 9781442242449
Publication Date: 2016
Explores key aspects of individual songs, including the musical and lyrical reasons for their broad appeal and applicability over the years.