LibGuides: Reference Desk: Home

Chat with a Librarian

How can we help? RCC Librarians are available to chat during library open hours, when school is in session. You can also email us at librarian@roguecc.edu or call 541-956-7150 to be connected with a reference librarian.

RCC Library Hours

Please visit the Hours & Locations page for up-to-date information on hours and services for all campus libraries.

Search for an online library resource

Search for Articles

EBSCO Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for full-text scholarly journal articles from over 8500 journals in all academic subjects.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database similar to EBSCO's Academic Search Premier.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Essays on current, controversial issues. Pro/con debate. Statistics, news & articles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reports on select political and social issues in the news.
Criminal Justice Periodicals Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Law enforcement, criminal justice, psychology and social issues.
EBSCO Databases (All) This link opens in a new window
The complete list of databases provided by EBSCO. Many of the databases are subject specific so select only those that are appropriate for your research.
Gale Databases (All) This link opens in a new window
The complete list of databases provided by Gale. Many of the databases are subject specific so select only those that are appropriate for your research.

All Online RCC Library Resources
The complete list of RCC Libraries' online subscription resources: journals, magazines, newspapers, test prep, movies and ebooks.
Google Scholar
This is a filtered Google search that focuses on academic materials like journals, conference presentations, and edited book chapters. Some materials require a subscription; the library will try to help you access these publications with no cost to you.

more... less...

Many of the articles you find in Google Scholar are not full-text. However, you may be able to obtain entire articles though interlibrary loan. Ask a reference librarian if you have questions about this process.

Search for Books and DVDs (Library Catalog)

RCC/JCLS Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find and request RCC and Jackson County materials (books, DVDs, etc.) via the Library Catalog. Materials can be picked up at any RCC or JCLS branch. Use your library card number and PIN to log in.

Search for eBooks

eBook Community College Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full Text eBook collection focusing on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges.

Search for Streaming Video

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming social science videos.
Films on Demand Master Academic Package This link opens in a new window
Content ranges from Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries to A-list performances spanning the arts. To browse all the subjects, click on the Menu to select Subject Index.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Access the documentary, In the Light of Reverence, the the story of three indigenous communities and the land they struggle to protect.

Harvest of Empire: The Untold Story of Latinos in America
This documentary examines the direct connection between the long history of U.S. intervention in Latin America and the immigration crisis we face today.